Great Air Rally of South America 2011

logoB.jpg (1753 bytes)   presented by Bluegrass Airlines  logoB.jpg (1753 bytes)


Flight Schedule
The Great Air Rally of South America 2011
(GARSA 2011)


The route for the GARSA 2011 is through Colombia, in the northwest of South America.  With a population of over 46 million people, Colombia has the 29th largest population in the world and the 2nd largest in South America, after Brazil, and it has the 3rd largest population of any Spanish-speaking country in the world, after Mexico and Spain.  It was the first constitutional government of South America, which was declared in 1811, and is the only South American country that has never had a coup.

Part of the "Ring of Fire" around the Pacific Ocean, Colombia is dominated by the Andes Mountains.  The route for the GARSA 2011 will show how dominant the Andes are.

The territory of what is now "Colombia" was originally inhabited by indigenous people including the Muisca, Quimbaya, and Tairona.  The Spanish arrived in 1499 initiating a period of conquest and colonisation, and in 1717 created the Viceroyalty of New Granada (comprising modern-day Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, the northwest region of Brazil and Panama) with its capital in Bogota.

The word "Colombia" comes from Christopher Columbus and it was conceived by the Venezuelan revolutionary Francisco de Miranda as a reference to all the New World, but especially to those territories and colonies under Spanish and Portuguese rule.  The name was adopted by the Republic of Colombia after independence from Spain was won by Simon Bolivar in 1819, but by 1830, with the secession of Venezuela and Ecuador, the new republic had collapsed.  In 1835, the Cundinamarca region, what is now Colombia and Panama, emerged as a new country, the Republic of New Granada.  The new nation experimented with federalism as the Granadine Confederation (1858), and then the United States of Colombia (1863), before the Republic of Colombia was finally declared in 1886.  Panama seceded in 1903, under pressure to fulfil financial responsibilities towards the United States government to build the Panama Canal.

The Flight Schedule and Reporting Dates for each Flight Leg are detailed in the table below.  PIREPs for each Flight Leg must be received by 2359 hrs UTC on the date indicated.  Any late PIREPs will result in a "Withdrawn" being recorded against the entrant.  PIREPs can be submitted in advance of the required Reporting date.  All details regarding PIREP submission are under the "PIREPs" link.


Airport From Airport To ICAO
Dist (nm)
1 SKBO Bogota Ocana SKOC 226 03 Sep 11
2 SKOC Ocana Malaga SKLA 103 05 Sep 11
3 SKLA Malaga Yaguarito SK53 190 08 Sep 11
4 SK53 Yaguarito Pitalito SKPI 208 11 Sep 11
5 SKPI Pitalito Ipiales SKIP 115 13 Sep 11
6 SKIP Ipiales Cali SKCL 179 16 Sep 11
7 SKCL Cali Medellin SKMD 168 18 Sep 11
8 SKMD Medellin Necocli SKNC 152 20 Sep 11
9 SKNC Necocli Santa Marta SKSM 220 23 Sep 11
10 SKSM Santa Marta Cartagena SKCG 86 25 Sep 11

Note:  The ICAO Code for Yaguarito in FS9 is SK0B.